Disconnectedness

I migrated to the world of techies about a year ago, joining my husband in running our small software startup. Before this I worked in a happily “disconnected” environment with a million woes of technology that one could crib about.

Technology woes can be super magnified within the environs of those proclaimed to be “not for profit”. No, this isnt because “social workers” aren’t tech savvy – we surf the net, understand words like “server” and “trojan”, understand blogging and widgets, know what a bluetooth transfer is, understand how wifi works, are plugged into the iphone hype and the rest of the related blah. Rather this annoying jinx with technology is a result of the complicated measures that somehow seem to plague even the simplest of IT solutions in an NGO setup. For example in my previous job, we used Microsoft Exchange Server for email and (ahem) collaboration. Combined with strange connectivity and virus issues that seemed to be confined to the periphery of the organization along with troublesome server settings that seemed to magically change with every single breath, we did anything but “collaborate”.

Most of us were in a perpetual state of “where is this file” , “where is that folder” , “oh that mail dint come” and “all my mails are bouncing back”.

But the QTOL thing about being in such an environment is the fact that one can continue to resemble “humans of this age and time”. Yes, we could all afford to miss the bus of evolution resulting in ” the next generation of humans” and enjoy the bliss of “disconnectedness”.

The happily disconnected lot – surf, use the mobile and perhaps even blog – but they:

1. Do not open a million browser windows (with a zillion tabs within each)

2. Do not need maps for directions in India

3. Do not need something like Twitter to tell the world that they are bored, or super smart, or sleeping or yawning

4. Can do without reading their emails for a week and can stay off their IMs without falling into social isolation

5. Do not substitute Google with plain simple “hellos” and “business cards” in a social gathering

6. Do not get into depression because there is no internet or mobile connectivity

7. Do not need “a Second life”

There are several other such lovely traits of this happily disconnected lot – the fact is that they are so well connected to the presence of living forms through the traditional medium of “air” that they do not crave for the modern “connected” mediums like emails, IMs, tagging, scrapping, linking and the blah.

At a recent conference that I attented, face to face interaction dint seem to suffice and people wanted to get online on their super cool laptops (almost compulsively) to browse, even though listening could have given them the very same information. I swear I could see antennas growing out of their heads, so you can imagine their need to “connect” virtually with the mere whiff of the presence of such a network.

I am happy to say that in spite of being a part of a software startup, I am still miles away from growing an antenna. I blog because I love writing and its a free and convenient way to communicate what I write, I use IM largely to save on phone bills. I recently bought my mobile on the internet because it took me less than 10 minutes to do so, as against several tiring hours negotiating the crowd at UniverCell. More importantly I avoided the mental fatigue resulting from trying to choose between many many models with a zillion features presented by “as a rule I shall be unhelpful” salespeople.

Yet I am not hooked or addicted. I am not in love with the virtual connections and I can live without it.

My happiest moments continue to be random moments that crowd the monotony of life – like puris puffing into full sized balloons and bobbing on the surface the very first time I make them. And I’d exchange “a lifetime of connectivity” for the feel of a vast green virgin beach (minus the “meen fry”, “mulagai bajji” and “xxx chaat” of course).

I am proud to be still swimming in the bliss of “disconnectedness”!!

7 responses

  1. lathanarasimhan

    Nice piece. In a way every human being seems to be disconnected to most things happening in the world.

    It is impossible to be connected to all things in our life time.

    amma.

    July 30, 2007 at 4:20 pm

  2. lathanarasimhan

    In your blog I fell disconnected without an index.

    Is this a part of your strategy.

    July 30, 2007 at 4:22 pm

  3. mandiranagrath

    i really liked it! its so true!:D πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    July 31, 2007 at 4:26 am

  4. mandiranagrath

    miss techie,why does my pic show when i leave u a comment?

    July 31, 2007 at 4:39 am

  5. you mean why doesn’t it show? i cant see your pic!!

    July 31, 2007 at 4:40 am

  6. Meghana

    Hey lakshmi, Im gettin a complex now….i cant even do all those thing that u ve written social workers can do on the comp!! πŸ™‚ im sure u know it……u had done all my graphs for the research!! But yeah, i agree thsat feelin connected is a lot more important and satisfying!! Proud of u!! πŸ™‚

    August 2, 2007 at 5:03 am

  7. hey meghana, using some of this isnt as complicated as it is made out to be. im sure you’ll probably firgure all of what you need when you need it

    like my mom, who used to think the comp has gone wonked even if one reset the desktop wallpaper, now she talks widgets, rss, tags and what not πŸ˜€

    August 2, 2007 at 5:27 am

Leave a Reply

