An Award for the Sleeping Beauties and Other Random things

Now no one really likes to compete with never ending soap operas – but then there are these rare occasions in life when we can say that we are truly touched – and this is one of them. Our friend Mandira at Churning the Word Mill thinks that we are…..
bestbloggingbuddiesaward.jpg

Thank you Mandira!! 🙂

Unfortunately Mandira is also consumed by grief over the sad untimely demise of this blog – The Quaint Treasures of Life. The “not to be missed” rib tickling obituary will tell you more.

We have made it quite clear that its not really the lack of ideas or time or the absence of will to write that caused this sudden lull in QTOL. Our blog atmas are incorrigibly INTP.

Meanwhile here are some of the things I have been consumed with while “not blogging” on QTOL – this list excludes work that I do for a living:

  1. QTOL isn’t a good place to rant. The past few months I’ve been more in a rant mood than a “so let’s look at quaint things in life :)” mood. Worry not, there is no pent up aggression. I have ensured that a considerable amount of Neha’s chat real estate is occupied with my rants.
  2. I have been busy earning the distinction of Cyber Squatter by blogging on my mom’s blog – until this effort was stopped in its tracks with a “I don’t want to cook” syndrome.
  3. I have been regularly deleting mails that say forward this email to 5 people and you’ll be blessed with good luck, forward to 15 people you’ll be blessed with gold, forward to 20 you’ll be blessed with diamonds, forward to 100 you’ll own Google, forward to 1000, you’ll become god. If you don’t fwd, you’ll be struck with bad luck for the rest of your life. if you ignore and snigger, then the devil will fry you in hell alive.
  4. I have been trying to figure a way to disable a facebook account. I hate to sound dumb, but I actually couldn’t figure how to do this for quite sometime. My random urge to sign in and figure what facebook was all about resulted in days of inbox overflow with overzealous people who wanted to hug me, kiss me, throw something at me at the drop of a hat.
  5. I have been day dreaming about doing a whole lot of things – illustrating a Children’s Series, traveling around the world and getting paid for it, running a marathon (idea credit – here and here), taking an offbeat holiday with Neha (idea credit – here), writing a book, running a retail outlet exclusively dedicated to kitchen gadgets, blah, blah and blah.

Some of these have been so very consuming, that even if I took time out to watch the leaves of the Gulmohar flutter like a butterfly in the wind – I din’t bother to write or share. Perhaps, its time to change that or to imitate a motivational speaker “The Time for Change is NOW”.

5 responses

  1. am snowed under work right now..but will be back to give you a full length response to that one… 🙂

    January 21, 2008 at 9:58 am

  2. oh oh… i missed the word buddy… i wanted to write ” ..a full length reponse to that one, buddy” but forgot to write ‘buddy’ in my hurry. damn!

    January 21, 2008 at 9:59 am

  3. I am happy that there is some one else other than me to pull your leg!! 😀

    January 21, 2008 at 10:33 am

  4. churningthewordmill

    sorry…took rather long to make my official comment on this post.
    i agree qtol is not a place to rant and that you need to maintain the quality standards you have set for yourself. naturally that means you cant write anything and everything that comes to your mind(unlike me!!). your being INTP doesnt help the situation either. but you cant take such looooong sabaticals either! its unfair to your (loyal) readers(like me!). they feel rather foolish visiting your blog so often only to discover nothing new has been published. it also makes them wonder if they are addicted to blogging-commenting! so do us all a favour and WRITE MORE FREQUENTLY!
    i think i got my message across(sheepish grin)

    January 24, 2008 at 4:09 am

  5. churningthewordmill

    you my dear friend, have been tagged!! 🙂

    February 5, 2008 at 3:29 am

Leave a Reply

